Home page > Asian Elephant > Indra and Eravana

Indra and Eravana

Tuesday 12 July 2011, by Sébastien Duffillot

Hindus believe that the eight cardinal points of the earth are protected by eight mythical elephants, the Dig Gaja. The most important of these is Airavata or Eravana (‘he who was born from the waters’), who served as the mount of the god Indra, the bringer of rains and one of the main gods in the Hindu pantheon. Airavata is generally depicted with three heads and six tusks and is said to have been born from the churning of the sea.

Elephant Symbolism Elephant Baci


Birth of the Buddha

The Buddha Tames Nalagiri

The Buddha Attains Nirvana

Ganesha - an Indian God

The White Elephant

Capturing elephants

The Mahout


Elephants and War

Mahout’s equipment

About this site | Contact | Site Map | Follow-up of the site's activity RSS 2.0 | Private area | © 2008 ElefantAsia